Thursday, 22 October 2015

NIS tragedy: Abba Moro summoned by EFCC again.

Former Minister of Interior, Mr. Abba Moro
The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission has again directed the former Minister of Interior, Mr. Abba Moro, to report to its Economic Governance Unit, on Thursday (today), in relation to the investigation into the tragic Nigeria Immigration Service’s recruitment of May 2014 that resulted in the death of 19 applicants.

According to Punch, a top operative of the commission told our correspondent that a team of investigators handling the case of the former minister directed him to report at the commission’s headquarters on Thursday because his interrogation was not concluded on Tuesday. Continue......

The former minister was interrogated by the operatives of the commission over the conduct of the recruitment tragedy on Tuesday.

The source said, “The ex-minister was given an administrative bail on Tuesday but was asked to return on Thursday for a continuation of the process. It is obvious that they were not through with him.

“He was released in the evening on Tuesday on administrative bail. He is expected to report to the commission for a continuation of the interrogation on Thursday.”

The EFCC had reopened investigation into the NIS recruitment tragedy with the interrogation of a former Comptroller General of Immigration, Mr. David Paradang, on September 15, 2015.

The team of investigators, who interviewed Paradang, focussed on the conduct of the failed recruitment and how N600m extorted from the applicants in 2014 was spent.

It was gathered that top officials of the Ministry of Interior and the Civil Defence, Fire, Prison Services Boards, who conducted the interviewed, declared N45m as the money collected from the job seekers.

It was learnt that Paradang’s testimony before the commission, in which he exonerated himself of responsibility for the conduct of the exercise, made the commission to expand the scope of the investigation.

It is likely that the commission would invite some of the members of the board after the sessions with Moro on Tuesday in the bid to trace how the remaining N555m collected from the applicants was spent.

The members of the board are S.D. Tapgun (CDFIPB); JaeI Kpatuvvak, Deputy Director (A&P), CDFIPB; Okhamera A. I., Asst. Director (Admin), CDFIPB; Bello Torankawa, Asst. Director (A&P), CDFIPB; Hamid Abdul-Lamid, Asst. Director (IMM), CDFIPB; Aduku, M. M., Asst. Director (D&GP), CDFIPB; and Oyedeji, T.V., CIS (APU), NIS.

Others are Abubakar A. A., Interior ministry; Chukwu O. C., Rep. Asst. Director (F&A), CDFIPB; I. M. Makama, L. A, CDFIPB; Nasiru Yusuf, ICT Unit, CDFIPB; . Shehu Mohammed, Deputy Director (D. &GP), CDFIPB; Mukah O. S., Chief Admin. Officer (FFS); Theodore Maiyaki, Drexei Tech.; William Butau, Drexel Tech; and Abioye Bankole, Drexei Tech.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...