Tuesday, 3 November 2015

CAF lists 10 for Glo Awards but no Nigerian made the list. Check out full list here......

Nigeria’s long wait to win the GLO-CAF Awards will continue for at least another year following the organisers exclusion of Vincent Enyeama and Ahmed Musa from the list of 10 released for the 2014 edition of the event.

Enyeama and Musa were in the initial 35-man list released by the Confederation of African Football (CAF) for the race to be crowned the 2015 African Player of the Year.

Nigeria has not won the award since Nwankwo Kanu took it in 1999. But with the Super Eagles missing the 2015 African Nations Cup in Equatorial Guinea, it would have taken an extraordinary club performance for any Nigerian to win the awards. See the list after the cut.......

Up for the awards this year in the 10-man shortlist released by the organisers are three-time winner, Yaya Toure of Manchester City and Cote d’Ivoire, André Ayew (Ghana & Swansea), Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Roma), Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Borussia Dortmund) and Sadio Mané (Senegal & Southampton)

In the African Player of the Year (Based in Africa) category, the 10 shortlisted players are Abdeladim Khadrouf of Morocco, Baghdad Bounedjah of Algeria and Etoile Sportive Sahel of Tunisia, Felipe Ovono of Equatorial Guinea and Orlando Pirates of South Africa, Kermit Erasmus of South Africa and Orlando Pirates, Mbwana Aly Samatta of Tanzania and TP Mazembe of Congo DR, Mohamed Meftah of Algeria and USM Alger of Algeria, Modather Al Tayeb of Sudan and Al Hilal, Robert Kidiaba Muteba of Congo DR & TP Mazembe, Robert Assale of Cote d’ Ivoire & Sewe Sports and Zinnedine Ferhat of Algeria and USM Alger.

Votes of the coaches or technical directors of the national associations affiliated to CAF will decide the winner.

The awards gala will be held in Abuja on January 7 2016.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...