Thursday, 29 September 2016

Edo governorship election update.

The two leading candidates in the Edo State governorship election, Godwin Obaseki of the All Progressives Congress, APC, and Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, were last night racing neck and neck against the background of mixed fortunes for some of the state’s leading political leaders. 

The biggest upset of the night was at the PU001 Staff Training School, Benin where the National Chairman of the APC, Chief John Odigie-Oyegun, and wife of the PDP candidate, Dr. Idia Ize-Iyamu voted. The PDP won the unit by 78 votes to APC’s 69. Also, former Governor of the state, Oserhiemen Osunbor failed to deliver for the APC, as PDP won at his poling unit in Iruekpen, Esan West LGA by 168 to 120 votes. 

In other early results, the APC candidate won his unit by 160 votes to the 77 votes scored by the PDP candidate. The PDP candidate, however, won his unit (Unit 26 Ward 5 in Orhionmwon local government area) by 369 votes to the one vote recorded for the APC candidate. The outgoing governor, Comrade Adams Oshiomhole also won his voting centre in Ward 10, Unit 1, Iyamho in Etsako West LGA by 752 to 1 vote. 

In other early results, Chief Mike Oghiadhome, who served as Chief of Staff to President Goodluck Jonathan, also won in his polling unit by 308 to 214, while Senator Matthew Urhoghide, the PDP campaign manager, won his Unit 9 by 139 to 51. Against apprehension of violence, yesterday’s election relatively passed off smoothly with minimal reports of violence in the 18 local government areas of the state. 

The election was, however, largely marred by alleged inducement of voters with money being passed on to voters even on the queue. There was a heavy turnout of voters with many voters trekking long distances to their voting points. 

The heavy turnout led to an extension of voting time in Ikpeshi, in Akoko Edo Local Government Area, where voting was ongoing as at 6.30 p.m. Voting commenced quite early in many voting centres as materials and election officials arrived early enough with accreditation and voting commencing simultaneously. Leading political officials, including the outgoing governor, Comrade Adams Oshiomhole, and the two major candidates, Obaseki and Ize-Iyamu all commended the turnout. There were few complaints about card reader malfunctioning in Emokpae Primary school Oredo, Ayogwiri in Etsako Central and some parts of Orhiowmon. However, INEC officials made frantic efforts to fix the situation. 

Read more on Vanguard

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...